Upgrade Your Breakfast

I’m always on the hunt for new things I can eat quickly for breakfast. This isn’t as easy as it sounds because I’m a label reader (if it has ingredients I don’t recognize, I usually don’t buy it), and I like to start my day with whole foods that deliver a lot of energy without taking a lot of time to prepare. As I was scanning the cereal aisle at my local Whole Foods (“local” being Portland – over an hour and a half away from my little college town), I came across a “Superfood Cereal” from Nature’s Path called Qi’A.

Qi'a Superfood Cereal

I’ll admit, I was skeptical – nothing but chia, buckwheat and hemp kernels? I’m a generally healthy eater, but I’m not a masochist. It reminded me of the stuff from Shaklee (remember them?) I used to watch my dad pile on his Wheaties when I was growing up.

Still, the next morning, I mixed up a batch of my vanilla yogurt, topped it with two tablespoons of Qi’A (the recommended serving size), mixed it in, and took my first hesitant bite. I LOVED it! The vanilla yogurt masked any bitterness from the buckwheat, and the crunch was just perfect. Better yet, it gave me a steady energy boost to get my morning going without weighing me down – not bad for two little tablespoons of “cereal”. And it would work great with fresh fruit mixed in, too. Worried about the price? I was, too – but with only two tablespoons in a serving, that 8 ounce bag lasts longer than a box of cereal would in my house, and it delivers a lot more nutrition! So trade in your usual bowl of cereal for a bowl of pro-biotic superfood yumminess instead!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Hot Products I Love:

Author:Dory Diaz Photography

Dory is a professional wedding and portrait photographer, writer, and social media addict.

Subscribe to this blog!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

