Steak: It’s What’s for Dinner!

I swear every time I make some sort of steak for dinner, I hear the deep baritone of the Cattle Association (which I’m assuming is meant to sound like a hardened ranch-hand) saying, “Beef! It’s what’s for dinner!” (ba-da-dum!). I don’t eat a lot of red meat, but my kids are hard-core carnivores, so occasionally I have to accommodate them. Today was a gorgeous fall, er, summer day up on my little mountain (barely 70, but the sun was out, so hey! that’s something), perfect for grilling up this easy marinated flank steak. You can go spicier by adding jalapeno to the marinade, or keep the spice down and leave it out, making it more kid-friendly. Here’s what you’ll need:

Lime-Garlic Flank Steak

Ingredients:

IMG_1199

large cut of London Broil/flank steak

3 tbsp olive oil

1 lime zested and juiced

5 or 6 garlic cloves minced (if you like it more garlic-y, throw in more – most of the spice of the garlic will be grilled off)

1 tbsp Tabasco green pepper sauce

1/2 fresh jalapeno, seeded and finely diced (optional)

kosher/sea salt

In a large ziploc bag, combine the olive oil, lime zest and juice, garlic (I mince right into the bag), and green Tabasco.

IMG_1200

Muddle all the ingredients around in the bag til they’re combined (see how I have the bag curled over on itself a bit? That’ll help with keeping your bag clean while you get the steak in it), and set aside.

IMG_1201

Rinse your flank steak (I buy organic and local when I can, and at the very least make sure I have beef from cows that haven’t been fed hormones or antibiotics), pat dry, and using a knife, cut a few shallow crosses in it, score the fat (to keep it from curling up on the grill), and add it to your ziploc bag.

IMG_1202

Seal it, and start massaging that marinade around like you’re giving the flank steak a rub-down.

IMG_1203

Now pour yourself a glass of wine and have a seat while it marinates – about 15 minutes. Of course, this means you can only sit 10 minutes because you’ll want to heat your grill – I fire mine up to around 500 degrees, and keep all the burners on high to ensure a good sear on the steak. Before you put the steak on the grill, though, give it a thorough coat of kosher or sea salt – that helps your sear. Cook for about four minutes on one side, four on the other (less if you want it really rare), then bring it in and let it sit for five minutes under foil so the meat can recover all those yummy juices (I have a cutting board with a trench I use to rest meat – the excess juice fills the trench and I can then pour that over the meat when I serve it).

After your meat has had time to rest (it’s had a rough day, after all), slice it thin on a diagonal.

IMG_1205

All that’s left now is plating and EATING!

Finished Flank

I served mine with Creamy Avocado Pasta from an amazing blog I found called Oh She Glows! (you should totally check her out!). Total time for dinner making? 15 minutes of work and 15 minutes of wine-drinking. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes:

Author:Dory Diaz Photography

Dory is a professional wedding and portrait photographer, writer, and social media addict.

Subscribe to this blog!

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

